A lesson in sharing

 It’s mine but you can have some, with you I’d like to share it, cuz if I share it with you, you’ll have some too

I spend so much time teaching kids how to share, we all do. I make them give up turns and set egg timers, parents sign up for play dates so kids can practise this art called sharing. I tell them it’s kind and friendly it’s expected and it’s just the way we treat our friends. If someone has a lot of sand I tell them to share with a friend who has none, this also goes for ribbons, glue, anything really. When they get mad about me even suggesting they should “share” their hard-earned supplies I think to myself, yikes it’s only sand dude.

Doesn’t it only seem fair that we live our lectures and practise the art of sharing ourselves? How can I ask, demand really,  kiddos to share everything if I’m not willing to do the same. We call it giving as grown ups because then we’re not obligated anymore, it’s not demanded of us as it was when we were kids. We get to view it as a sacrifice, a noble act, we work hard for what we have and then give away the benefits.

Maybe if we viewed our giving as sharing we’d look at it in the same way we tell our kids to. Instead of seeing giving as this selfless act we might instead see sharing as this thing we’re expected to do. We share what we have with a friend who has none.

My go to guy, Raffi, sang a little ditty about just that on his greatest hits album  (where I learn all of life’s hard lessons). He says, it’s mine but you can have some, with you I’d like to share it, cuz if I share it with you, you’ll have some to. I think Raffi knows his stuff.

I started this process thinking any sharing I had been committed to in the past would need to stop so that all funds could be put toward this adoption. I planned to just skip this year and pick up next year again. I see now how wrong I was, so silly of me to think that just because I’d have less than before that it still wouldn’t be more than someone with none. I worry because money is about to get super tight, so tight it may be invisible but I am hopeful that God and Raffi keep working on my heart and demanding that I still find ways to share with a friend, you know,  so they’ll have some too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lesson in sharing

  1. Laura Walters says:

    Amen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

