An orphanage is no place for a child

 Russia

 Russia

 China

 China

 Bulgaria

 Africa

These aren’t even the worst images out there, they are actually pretty nice looking places compared to some others.

I remember being about 12 and seeing some kind of 20/20 or Dateline thing about orphanages in Russia or the Ukraine or something and it made me sick to my stomach. At a very early age I knew I didn’t want to have babies, I wanted to “find them” but, it wasn’t until that TV special that I understood why, no child should ever grow up like this. Whenever I feel bummed out or disappointed in the process I take a peek at these pics or this Bulgarian orphanage documentary and it reminds me that my wait is nothing. I wait in a comfortable home with too much to eat and too much to do, I have friends and family and I know what it feels like to be held and loved. My wait is cake, their wait, miserable. They wait sick, or stuck in a crib, some wait without ever having played outside, some wait with body aches and bed sores, some wait longing to be touched, some wait with hunger pains or in soiled diapers, they all wait unloved by a family. They weren’t joking when they said an orphanage is no place for a child.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

